You are currently viewing Afterlife Part 2: A Comparison

Afterlife Part 2: A Comparison

by John Richards

[for Part 1 go here]

Egyptian afterlife: In Egyptian mythology, the afterlife was believed to be a journey to the underworld, where the soul would be judged by Osiris, the god of the dead. If the soul was deemed worthy, it would enter the afterlife, where it would live a life similar to its life on earth, but with the added ability to perform magic.

Greek afterlife: In Greek mythology, the afterlife was divided into two realms: the Elysian Fields for heroes and virtuous people and the Underworld for everyone else. Souls were judged by three judges and sent to their respective destinations.

Roman afterlife: The Roman afterlife was similar to the Greek afterlife, with the addition of a place called the Fields of Asphodel, where ordinary people went after death.

Norse afterlife: In Norse mythology, the afterlife was called Valhalla, a hall in Asgard where warriors who died in battle would go to feast and fight for eternity.

Hindu afterlife: In Hinduism, the soul is believed to reincarnate after death, with the next life determined by karma.

Buddhist afterlife: In Buddhism, the concept of rebirth is similar to that of Hinduism, but without the belief in a permanent soul.

Christian afterlife: In Christianity, the afterlife is divided into heaven, where the righteous go, and hell, where the wicked go.

Islamic afterlife: In Islam, the afterlife is divided into paradise, where the righteous go, and hell, where the wicked go.

Jewish afterlife: In Judaism, the afterlife is not a major focus, but there are beliefs in an afterlife where the soul is judged and may either go to heaven or be reincarnated.

Modern spiritualist afterlife: Some modern spiritualist beliefs suggest that the afterlife involves a continuation of consciousness, with the soul able to communicate with the living through mediums.

This Post Has One Comment

Leave a Reply